BUTTE ROSE SOCIETY

Chico, CA

Butte Rose Society's 2017 Events & Calendar

NEXT MEETING TOPIC

 

You are invited to come join the fun at The Butte Rose Society meeting on Tuesday, August 29th at 7:00 pm. We always welcome new guests.

The guests speaker will be Mike Bertain, a BRS member and Consulting Rosarian.  Mike has recently returned from a trip to England where he learned a few very important things about roses and their care.  Mike would like to share this new information, as well as his amazing photography taken on his English trip. We hope to see you at the August meeting! 

This month's Little Rose Show Challenge Class 15 will be "Rose in a Frame." Use only one rose, any variety displayed behind or mounted in any type of frame.  Exhibitor furnishes the frame.  Also, this month's Little Rose Show Arrangement Class will be "Summer Heart, a Modern Transparency design using standard OR miniature/miniflora roses.  Designer's choice of materials.  Arrangement TIP: Modern Transparency Design - A three dimensional design where some components are seen through other transparent components.  Naturally transparent materials may be flower clusters, trimmed foliage, or artfully placed plant material. "See through" manufactured material is often is often used. 

 The August Refreshments will be a salad bar.  Bring your favorite salad to share, such as carrot, cole slaw, pasta, potato, macaroni, veggie plate, sliced tomatoes, veggie plate, fruit or jello salad, and deviled eggs.

 The meeting is held at the Veterans Hall at 554 Rio Lindo Ave. in Chico on the third Tuesday of every month except June, July, and December.

If you have any questions: Call Program Director Cyndy Wright at (530) 966-5009.

 

 
MEMBERS AWARDS
 
On January 29, 2017, two distinguished awards were given to Gwen Quail and Mike Bertain, in addition to all the other awards given to the BRS members.  Gwen received the ARS Bronze Honor Award, the highest honor given to a member at the local society's level. Each rose society (chapter or affiliate), in good standing with the American Rose Society, may annually award the American Rose Society Bronze Medal for Outstanding Service to one of its members for outstanding and meritorious service at the local society level. Mike received the Best New Member Award, which can be given annually to a new member who has volunteered above and beyond the society's expectations. 
CONGRATULATIONS, GWEN AND MIKE!
 
 
 
 

BUTTE ROSE SOCIETY - 2017 Event Calendar

 

 

Monday, January 9                 Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, January 31               General Membership meeting

 

Monday, February 6               Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, February 28             General Membership meeting

 

Monday, March 6                   Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, March 28                 General Membership meeting

 

Monday, April 3                     Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, April 25                   General Membership meeting

 

Monday, May 1                       Board of Directors meeting

Saturday, TBD                        Members Only Garden Tour

Tuesday, May 30                     General Membership meeting

 

June & July                            No Board of Directors or General Membership meetings

 

Monday, August 7                  Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, August 29                General Membership meeting

 

Monday, September 4            Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, September 26          General Membership meeting

 

Monday, October 2                Board of Directors meeting

Saturday, October 28            23rd Annual Rose Show & Festival of Roses 

Tuesday, October 31              General Membership meeting

 

Monday, November 6            Board of Directors meeting

Tuesday, November 28          General Membership meeting

 

Friday, December 8               December Social & Member Appreciation

Monday, December 4             Board of Directors meeting

 

 

 



For more information regarding any of the scheduled events, please contact:  Cynthia Wright, Program Director, at 530-966-5009  or email: cjswchico@sbcglobal.net.